The Jody Daman Memorial Scholarship was established in 2001, following the death of our staff member, Jody Kininger Daman, who passed away March 7, 2001. This $500 award is available to high school seniors who are patients or former patients of Dr. Cooper, and who have plans of furthering their education following high school graduation. The criteria for this annual award of $500 are as follows:

  1. The award is for students who are or were orthodontic patients of Bemidji Orthodontics.
  2. The students will have graduated from high school in the year of award application, with intent to continue their education.
  3. The student may apply by writing a short essay containing information about their interests, educational goals, and why they should be considered for this award.
  4. The essay is to be submitted to Dr. Bret Cooper, 2205 23rd St. NW Bemidji, MN 56601.
  5. The deadline for the essay is April 15th.

More information on this scholarship can be obtained from the guidance offices of local schools.

Jody Daman

Past Recipients of this scholarship are:

  • 2019: Nicholas Mutchler
  • 2018: Taylor Sagen
  • 2017: Jacob Smith
  • 2016: Hunter Utke
  • 2015: Madelyn Tews
  • 2014: Bailee Jerger
  • 2013: Ian Johnson
  • 2012: Hana Felix 
  • 2011: Kaleb Hanson
  • 2010: Andrew Maninga
  • 2009: Brett Dokken 
  • 2008: Katie Reise
  • 2007: Joseph Anderson
  • 2006: Jenny Beth Johnson
  • 2005: Matthew Rabe
  • 2004: Rebecca Oelfke
  • 2003: Josh Kelsey
  • 2002: Samantha Puschinsky
  • 2001: Bobby Mack